Post by Supermonkey on Dec 16, 2008 14:49:56 GMT -5
Wheres it stored? Doesn't that memory ever get deleted wherever it is?
When you delete something it doesn't actually get deleted. The file system just marks the block of memory as writeable. So eventually that block of memory will get overwritten but not immediatly. In fact (and someone can correct me if I'm wrong) but I don't even think a standard format completely erases the hard drive...
Post by Darkjester on Dec 16, 2008 15:55:59 GMT -5
From what i have come to understand about those file destroying programs they delete all the files on the HD and then write random data onto the platters and then cycle that about 3 times before its completly destroyed to the point that the CIA would have some serious trouble recovering some of the simplest files.